Sketchbook Drawings – Theatre Influence

Unfortunately, with a broken laptop & a poor app on my phone for WordPress, I’ve not really been updating my blog (or website for that matter).

I thought I’d utilise the scanner at work and upload a few new drawings from my sketchbook.  I’ve been drawing a lot lately as a result of the no laptop situation.  I can’t speak for all artists, but you tend to adapt to what you’ve got access to and what your budget can allow.  In my case at the moment, it’s been my sketchbook, a biro, photopaper and some old relief ink (I’ll upload some of these relief drawings at a later date).

For now, here are some sketchbook drawings:

Sketchbook drawing - Chairs in a circle or semi- circle

Sketchbook drawing - Chairs in a circle or semi- circle

I work for a theatre company, and these initial drawings came from the first read through of the script for a new show.  The actors and other people involved in the project came together in a large room and formed a circle of chairs for the read through.  This – along with attending more theatre recently – has sparked an interest in the role of the spectator and the role of the environment/ space / architecture that the spectator ‘spectates’ in.

Sketchbook drawing 2 - Looking at auditoriums & theatre sets

Sketchbook drawing 2 - Looking at auditoriums & theatre sets

This interest has evolved into a study of  the layout of auditoriums and research into film and set design.  Most of my drawings at the moment are from elevated view points, with lots of space between objects & walls.  I’m interested (as I’ve always been) in the placement of objects and the narrative that this forms.

Sketchbook drawings 3 - Researching auditoriums & stage design

Sketchbook drawings 3 - Researching auditoriums & stage design

Sketchbook Drawing - minimal objects & lots of space

Sketchbook Drawing - minimal objects & lots of space

If you click on the images they should open up in a larger format.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art research, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

